ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award Past Winners

Upper page: Awards and Honors
  • 2015 – Christos Kozyrakis

For outstanding contributions to transactional memory systems.

  • 2014 – Ravi Rajwar

For contributions to the design and commercialization of hardware transactional memory.

  • 2013 – Parthasarathy (Partha) Ranganathan

For contributions to the design of power-efficient microblade servers and pioneering work in disaggregated system designs.

  • 2012 – David Brooks

For outstanding contributions to power modeling, circuit and microarchitectural techniques to improve energy efficiency.

  • 2011 – Kevin Skadron

For outstanding contributions to thermal-aware computer architecture modeling and design.

  • 2010 – Andreas Moshovos

For foundational contributions to the area of memory dependence prediction.

  • 2009 – Shubu Mukherjee

For outstanding contributions to modeling and design of soft-error tolerant microarchitectures.

  • 2008 – Sarita Adve

For formalization of memory consistency models, especially data-race free models, and their influence on both hardware and high-level languages.

  • 2007 – Todd Austin

For innovative contributions in Computer Architecture including the SimpleScalar Toolkit and the DIVA and Razor architectures.

  • 2006 – Doug Burger

For contributions to spatially distributed processor and memory systems architecture.

  • 2005 – Steve Scott

For seminal contributions to the architecture and design of high-performance computer systems and interconnection networks.

  • 2004 – Kourosh Gharachorloo

For outstanding contributions in the area of memory consistency models in shared-memory multiprocessors.

  • 2003 – Dirk Meyer

For significant architectural contributions to Alpha and X86 processor designs.

  • 2002 – Glenn Hinton

For the Pentium 4 microprocessor design and other contributions to the field of microarchitecture.

  • 2001 – Anant Agarwal

For the first complete exploration of multithreading as a latency-tolerating technique for nondeterministic memory systems and software-assisted cache coherence.

  • 2000 – William J. Dally

For contributions in the design of multiprocessor interconnection networks and parallel computer architectures.

  • 1999 – Gurindar S. Sohi

For seminal contributions in the areas of high issue rate processors and instruction level parallelism.

  • 1998 – Wen-mei Hwu

For the development of the Impact compiler and its use in evaluating new architectural features.


SIGARCH serves a unique community of computer professionals working on the forefront of computer design in both industry and academia. It is ACM’s primary forum for interchange of ideas about tomorrow’s hardware and its interactions with compilers and operating systems.

SIGARCH Information Director: Boris Grot
February 2016
« Jan   Mar »