The ASPLOS Influential Paper Award recognizes a historical ASPLOS paper that has had major influence on the field. The Program Committee nominates highly influential papers from any ASPLOS conference that occurred ten or more conferences ago, with the final selection being made by the ASPLOS Steering Committee.

The Award is presented annually to the author(s) of one paper that appeared in the International Symposium on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS) 10 or more ASPLOS conferences prior to the award year. The Award is presented at ASPLOS each year. The first award was made at the ASPLOS 2011 conference, selecting one paper from the first through sixth ASPLOS conferences, which ranged from 1982 through 1994. The papers are judged by their influence on the field, including research influence, industrial impact, or both. An award plaque of recognition is given to each author, and the paper’s authors will share a $1,000 prize. A public citation of each award is listed on the SIGARCH, SIGPLAN, and SIGOPS web sites.

Selection Procedure

Papers are nominated by members of the ASPLOS Program Committee in the year the award is given. The ASPLOS Program Chair will send the list of nominated papers, with the number of votes to nominate each, to the ASPLOS Steering Committee Chair. Members of the selection committee may nominate additional papers if they do not have a conflict of interest (as defined below) on the paper they are nominating. The committee will identify the top three candidate papers, and committee members should not advocate for a paper on which they have a conflict to reside in the top three. Runner-up papers should be recorded by the Steering Committee for consideration in subsequent years. Once the top three papers are identified, the committee will vote on which paper should receive the award, with committee members conflicted with any paper in the top three abstaining from the vote. Nominated papers should be communicated from the Program Committee chair to the selection committee no more than one month after the Program Committee meeting, and the final selection should occur and be communicated to the ASPLOS Program Committee and General Chairs no more than two months after the Program Committee meeting. The recipients of the award should be notified no less than three months before the ASPLOS conference.

Selection Committee

The selection is made by the ASPLOS Steering Committee plus the General and Program Chairs of that year’s ASPLOS. The Steering Committee consists of the SIGARCH Chair and Past Chair, one representative each from SIGPLAN and SIGOPS, and the General and Program Chairs of the prior three ASPLOS conferences. Conflicts of interest are defined as being an author on a qualifying paper, if they have co-authored a paper with an author on a qualifying paper in the last 5 years, if they are from the same institution as an author on a qualifying paper, or if they are the dissertation advisor or advisee of an author on a qualifying paper.

2019 — Hoard: a scalable memory allocator for multithreaded applications. Emery D. Berger, Kathryn S. McKinley, Robert D. Blumofe, and Paul Wilson.

2018 — OceanStore: an architecture for global-scale persistent storage. John Kubiatowicz, David Bindel, Yan Chen, Steven Czerwinski, Patrick Eaton, Dennis Geels, Ramakrishna Gummadi, Sean Rhea, Hakim Weatherspoon, Westley Weimer,  Chris Wells, and Ben Zhao.

2017 — Automatically characterizing large scale program behavior. Timothy Sherwood, Erez Perelman, Greg Hamerly, Brad Calder

2016 — Limits of instruction-level parallelism. David W. Wall

2015 — The case for a single-chip multiprocessors. Kunle Olukotun, Basem A. Nayfeh, Lance Hammond, Ken Wilson, and Kunyung Chang

2014 — Secure program execution via dynamic information flow tracking. G. Edward Suh, Jae W. Lee, David Zhang and Srinivas Devadas

2013 — Transactional lock-free execution of lock-based programs. Ravi Rajwar, James R. Goodman

2012 — None given

2011 — The 801 Minicomputer. George Radin