ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award

2017 Maurice Wilkes Award Call for Nomination

The award of $2,500 is given annually for an outstanding contribution to computer architecture made by an individual whose computer-related professional career (graduate school or full-time employment, whichever began first) started no earlier than January 1st of the year that is 20 years prior to the year of the award.*

The award is presented annually at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture Awards Banquet. This year’s recipient will be invited to accept the award at ISCA 2017.

Nominations should consist of:

  1. Name, address, and phone number of person making the nomination.
  2. Name, affiliation, address, email, and telephone number of candidate for whom the award is recommended.
  3. A statement (between 200 and 500 words long) as to why the candidate deserves the award. Note that since the award is for an outstanding contribution, the statement and supporting letters should address what the contribution is and why it is both outstanding and significant.
  4. A maximum of five letters of support. Include the name, affiliation, email address, and telephone number of the letter writer(s). Supporters of multiple candidates are strongly encouraged to compare the candidates in their letters.
  5. A statement regarding the nominee’s specific year of eligibility. That is, when did they begin their computer-related professional career, and are there any circumstances for which the 20 years of eligibility should be adjusted?

Please send nominations (preferably electronically) no later than March 15, 2017 to the Chair of the Nominating Committee (

*At the discretion of the SIGARCH Executive Committee, eligibility may be adjusted for documented family-related or medical leaves from employment. Questions about eligibility should be directed to the SIGARCH Chair (

Selection Process:

The recipient of the Maurice Wilkes Award is selected by a vote of the SIGARCH Executive Committee and Board from a list of nominees submitted by the SIGARCH Awards Committee.

The SIGARCH Awards Committee consists of three members. Each member of the committee is selected by the Chair of SIGARCH to serve a three year term, with one new member added to the committee each year. Each committee member will serve as the Chair of the Awards Committee during their second year on the committee. Each year at least one member of the Awards Committee should be a member of the SIGARCH Executive Committee or Board, and at least one member should not be a member of the SIGARCH Executive Committee or Board. The Awards Committee should nominate from one to three candidates for selection by the SIGARCH Executive Committee and Board. The Awards Committee should transmit supporting materials for its nominees, along with a ranking of the nominees if appropriate, to the SIGARCH Chair. When a winner is selected, the SIGARCH Chair and the Awards Committee Chair will choose a citation for the Award.

Selection Milestones:

Each year the SIGARCH Chair should appoint the new member of the Awards Committee by December 15th, and should prepare by that date a Call for Nominations, which includes the award citation and the Award Committee’s contact information, for paper and electronic distribution. The Call should be mailed to appropriate mailing lists, printed in the first issue of Computer Architecture News following the 15th of December, and made available to any computer architecture conferences that occur before the nomination deadline.

The nomination deadline should be set for at least 8 weeks before the start of the award year’s ISCA conference. The Awards Committee should take no more than three weeks after the deadline to select their nominees. The SIGARCH Executive Committee and Board should take no more than a week from the delivery of nominations from the Awards Committee to make their selection. After a citation is determined, no less than four weeks from the start of the ISCA conference, the SIGARCH Chair will inform the winner, and inform ACM Headquarters of the decision so that a plaque can be ordered and a check drawn in time for delivery to the ISCA conference.

List of past winners

Current Awards Committee:

Babak Falsafi (chair)
School of Computer and Communication Sciences
Ecole Polytechnique Federal de Lausanne

Margaret Martonosi
Department of Computer Science
Princeton University

Todd Austin
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
University of Michigan