The ACM SIGARCH and IEEE-CS TCCA ISCA Influential Paper Award will be presented annually at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture. This award recognizes the paper from the ISCA Proceedings 20 years earlier that has had the most impact on the field (in terms of research, development, products or ideas) during the intervening years. The award includes an honorarium of $1,000 for the author(s) and a certificate.

The candidate papers will be selected from ISCA 20 years ago (with a window of +/- 2 years). Eligible papers can be nominated by the current year’s ISCA Program Committee or members of the architecture community. For questions please contact the Award Committee chair, Prof. Fred Chong at

2023 (For ISCA 2008): Gabe Loh.
3D-Stacked Memory Architectures for Multi-core Processors

2022 (For ISCA 2007): Xiaobo Fan, Wolf-Dietrich Weber, Luiz Andre Barroso.
Power provisioning for a warehouse-sized computer

2021 (For ISCA 2006): James Donald and Margaret Martonosi.
Techniques for Multicore Thermal Management: Classification and New Exploration

2020 (For ISCA 2005): Rakesh Kumar, Victor V. Zyuban, Dean M. Tullsen.
Interconnections in Multi-Core Architectures: Understanding Mechanisms, Overheads and Scaling

2019 (For ISCA 2004): Lance Hammond, Vicky Wong, Mike Chen, Brian D. Carlstrom, John D. Davis, Ben Hertzberg, Manohar K. Prabhu, Honggo Wijaya, Christos Kozyrakis, Kunle Olukotun.
Transactional Memory Coherence and Consistency

2018 (For ISCA 2003): Kevin Skadron, Mircea R. Stan, Karthik Sankaranarayanan, Wei Huang, Sivakumar Velusamy, David Tarjan.
Temperature-Aware Microarchitecture

2017 (For ISCA 2002): Kris Flautner, Nam Sung Kim, Steve Martin, David Blaauw, Trevor Mudge.
Drowsy Caches: Simple Techniques for Reducing Leakage Power

2016 (For ISCA 2001): Brian Fields, Shai Rubin, Rastislav Bodík
Focusing processor policies via critical-path prediction

2015 (For ISCA 2000): David Brooks, Vivek Tiwari, Margaret Martonosi
Wattch: A Framework for Architectural-Level Power Analysis and Optimizations

2014 (For ISCA 1999): Seth Copen Goldstein, Herman Schmit, Matthew Moe, Mihai Budiu, Srihari Cadambi, R. Reed Taylor, Ronald Laufer
“PipeRench: A Coprocessor for Streaming Multimedia Acceleration.”

2013 (For ISCA 1998): Srilatha Manne, Artur Klauser, Dirk Grunwald
“Pipeline Gating: Speculation Control for Energy Reduction.”

2012 (For ISCA 1997): Subbarao Palacharla, Norman P. Jouppi, James E. Smith
“Complexity-Effective Superscalar Processors.”

2011 (For ISCA 1996): Dean M. Tullsen, Susan J. Eggers, Joel S. Emer, Henry M. Levy, Jack L. Lo, Rebecca L. Stamm
“Exploiting choice: instruction fetch and issue on an implementable simultaneous multithreading processor”

2010 (For ISCA 1995): Dean M. Tullsen, Susan J. Eggers, Henry M. Levy
“Simultaneous Multithreading: Maximizing On-Chip Parallelism”

2009 (for ISCA 1994): Jeffrey Kuskin, David Ofelt, Mark Heinrich, John Heinlein, Richard Simoni, Kourosh Gharachorloo, John Chapin, David Nakahira, Joel Baxter, Mark Horowitz, Anoop Gupta, Mendel Rosenblum, John Hennessy
“The Stanford FLASH multiprocessor”

2008 (for ISCA 1993): Maurice Herlihy and J. Eliot B. Moss
“Transactional memory: architectural support for lock-free data structures”

2007 (for ISCA 1992): Tse-Yu Yeh and Yale N. Patt
“Alternative Implementations of Two-Level Adaptive Branch Prediction”

2006 (for ISCA 1991): Pohua P. Chang, Scott A. Mahlke, William Y. Chen, Nancy J. Warter, Wen-mei W. Hwu
“IMPACT: an architectural framework for multiple-instruction-issue processors”

2005 (for ISCA 1990): Norman P. Jouppi
“Improving Direct-Mapped Cache Performance by the Addition of a Small Fully-Associative Cache and Prefetch Buffers”

2004 (for ISCA 1989): Steven Przybylski, John Hennessy, Mark Horowitz
“Characteristics of Performance-Optimal Multi-Level Cache Hierarchies”

2003 (for ISCA 1988): Jean-Loup Baer and Wen-Hann Wang
“On the inclusion properties for multi-level cache hierarchies”