Call for Papers:

Cluster 2017

Abstract or Paper Registration Deadline
April 24, 2017
Final Submission Deadline
May 1, 2017

2017 IEEE International Conference on Cluster Computing (Cluster 2017)
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
September 5-8, 2017

– Abstract deadline: April 24, 2017 (AOE)
– Full Papers due: May 1, 2017 (Potential 7-10 days extension) (AOE)
– Acceptance Notification: June 30, 2017

IEEE Cluster 2017 is the 19th edition of the IEEE Cluster conference series, organized in cooperation with SIGHPC. Following the successes of previous IEEE Cluster conferences, we again solicit high-quality original work that advances the state-of-the-art in clusters and closely related fields. All papers will be rigorously peer-reviewed for their originality, technical depth and correctness, potential impact, relevance to the conference, and quality of presentation. Research papers must clearly demonstrate novel research contributions while papers reporting experiences must clearly describe lessons learned and impact, along with the utility of the approach compared to previous ones.

2017 Highlight: Convergence of Big Data and High-Performance Computing. While the tools and cultures for High-Performance Computing and Big Data Analytics have evolved in divergent ways, both rely on cluster architectures. As we witness an increasing awareness that further progress in scientific research depends on both areas, the interoperability and scaling convergence of these two ecosystems is expected to be critical to the future. Therefore, we have chosen this year to highlight research topics in all areas expected to bring progress in understanding if, why and how clusters should support this convergence. Specific topics are dedicated to this direction within all conference areas alongside more traditional topics.

Area 1: Application, Algorithms, and Libraries
– HPC and Big Data application studies on large-scale clusters
– Applications at the boundary of HPC and Big Data
– New applications for converged HPC/Big Data clusters
– Performance modeling and measurement
– Hybrid programming techniques (e.g., MPI+OpenMP)
– Cluster benchmarks
– Performance evaluation tools

Area 2: Architecture, Network/Communications, and Management
– Node and system architecture for HPC and Big Data clusters
– Architecture for converged HPC/Big Data clusters
– Energy-efficient cluster architectures
– Packaging, power and cooling
– Accelerators/ManyCores and heterogeneous clusters
– Interconnect/memory architectures
– Single system/distributed image clusters

Area 3: Programming and System Software
– Cluster system software/operating systems
– Programming models for converged HPC/Big Data systems
– Cloud-enabling cluster technologies and virtualization
– Resource and job management
– Fault tolerance and high-availability

Area 4: Data, Storage, and Visualization
– Cluster architectures for Big Data storage and processing
– Cluster-based cloud architectures for Big Data
– Storage systems supporting the convergence of HPC and Big Data processing
– File systems and I/O libraries
– Support and integration of non-volatile memory

Authors must indicate the primary area of preference out of the four areas above (see online for a more detailed list). They may optionally rank the other areas. The paper may be accepted as a full 10-page paper, or the committee might decide to accept it as a short paper with 4 pages in the proceedings. Note: references are not counted in the above limits on the number of pages.

Submitted papers must conform to the following IEEE Xplore layout, page limit, and font size:
– Submissions must be in PDF format.
– Submissions are required to be within 10 pages (Not counting references).
– Submissions must be single-spaced, 2-column numbered pages in IEEE Xplore format (8.5×11-inch paper, margins in inches — top:0.75, bottom:1.0, sides:0.625, and between columns:0.25, main text:10pt).
– Submissions are NOT double-blind. Author information can be included on the submission and will be visible to the reviewers.
– LaTeX and Word Templates are available here:
– Only web-based submissions are allowed via

General Co-chairs:
Naoya Maruyama, Riken, Japan
Todd Gamblin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Program Co-chairs:
Gabriel Antoniu, INRIA, France
Richard Vuduc, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Area Chairs
Michela Taufer, University of Delaware, USA and Aparna Chandramowlishwaran, University of California, Irvine (Area 1)
Frank Mueller, North Carolina State University, USA (Area 2)
Kenjiro Taura, University of Tokyo, Japan (Area 3)
Maria Perez, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain and Robert Sisneros, UIUC, USA (Area 4)

Local Arrangements Chairs:
Henri Cassanova, University of Hawaii, USA
Lipyoew Lim, University of Hawaii, USA