GreenMetrics 2016

Final Submission Deadline
April 11, 2016

Submitted by Niklas Carlsson

GreenMetrics 2016 Workshop
in conjunction with ACM SIGMETRICS 2016
Antibes Juan-les-Pins, France
June 14 (or June 18), 2016
– Monday, April 11, 2016: Paper Submission
– Wednesday, April 27, 2016: Author Notification
– Wednesday, June 1, 2016: Final Versions Due
– Tuesday (June 14) or Saturday (June 18), 2016: Workshop
– Date TBD (likely mid-July): Final Versions for PER Due
Sustainability is a topic of increasing importance in modern society. The
primary objective of this workshop is to explore how improvements to or new
uses of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) can improve the
environmental, economic and/or social sustainability of ICT systems, networks,
and applications and of non-ICT processes (e.g., quantify the reduction in
cost or carbon emissions from using tele-presence services instead of travel).

Topics of interest fall broadly into three main areas:
– Designing sustainable ICT: Such work includes research measuring, evaluating,
or designing energy efficient systems in data centers, networking and
communication protocols, etc.

– ICT for sustainability: new uses of ICT to improve the environmental,
economic, and/or social sustainability of non-ICT processes.

– Building a smarter, more sustainable electricity grid: addressing the
challenges (both engineering and economic) that come from incorporating
increasing penetration of renewable energy into the grid, demand-response
techniques, and smart-metering.

This workshop is intended to bring together researchers from the
(traditional) SIGMETRICS and Performance communities with researchers and
practitioners in the three areas above, to exchange technical ideas and
experiences on issues related to sustainability and ICT. The workshop will
include a mixture of invited talks and presentations of accepted papers,
and will serve as a forum for the SIGMETRICS and Performance communities to
apply their techniques to this emerging and important area.

An award will be presented for the best student paper, and we will have an
exciting series of keynote talks, including talks by Florian Dörfler (ETH
Zürich), Xue (Steve) Liu (McGill University), and Kameshwar Poolla (UC
In order to be inclusive of authors from different communities Greenmetrics
will have two options for paper submissions. Authors may either submit
full papers or extended abstracts. Full papers are allowed to be six
double-column pages, while extended abstracts are allowed to be up to three
double-column pages. Both types of submissions should be in the standard
ACM format, and both types of submissions will be reviewed. While full
papers must be either new material or a survey article, extended abstracts
may summarize recent submissions to other venues (either conferences or
journals). Thus, we hope that authors will submit extended abstracts in
order to present recent work from other communities to the Sigmetrics

Submissions must be submitted electronically in printable PDF form, via the
GreenMetrics 2016 submission site:

Submissions will be reviewed by the GreenMetrics program committee, from
which a number of papers will be selected for presentation at the workshop.
The accepted papers will be published in ACM SIGMETRICS Performance
Evaluation Review (PER). Authors of accepted papers grant permission to ACM
to publish the paper in PER and the ACM digital library. Authors do retain
the copyright of their paper.
– Niklas Carlsson, Linkoping University (niklas.carlsson@liu.se)
– Zhenhua Liu, Stony Brook University (zhenhua.liu@stonybrook.edu)
– Thu Nguyen, Rutgers University (tdnguyen@cs.rutgers.edu)
– Catherine Rosenberg, University of Waterloo ‎(cath@uwaterloo.ca)
– Adam Wierman, Caltech (adamw@caltech.edu)

Program Committee:
– Tarek Abdelzaher, UIUC
– Danilo Ardagna, Politecnico di Milano
– Martin Arlitt, Hewlett Packard Labs
– Subhonmesh Bose, Cornell Univerity
– Tim Brecht, University of Waterloo
– Giuliano Casale, Imperial College
– Abhishek Chandra, University of Minnesota
– Lydia Y. Chen, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory
– Minghua Chen, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
– Yuan Chen, Hewlett Packard Labs
– Gyorgy Dan, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
– Derek Eager, University of Saskatchewan
– Yashar Ghiassi-Farrokhfal, Erasmus University Rotterdam
– Emir Halepovic, AT&T
– Longbo Huang, Tsinghua University
– David Irwin, UMASS Amherst
– Canturk Isci, IBM
– Guillaume Jourjon, NICTA
– Srinivasan Keshav, University of Waterloo
– Diwakar Krishnamurthy, University of Calgary
– Deepa Kundur, University of Toronto
– Na Li, Harvard
– Manish Marwah, Hewlett Packard Labs
– Arif Merchant, Google
– Lei Rao, Huawei US R&D
– Cristina Rottondi, IDSIA
– Anand Sivasubramaniam, Pennsylvania State University
– Christopher Stewart, Ohio State University
– Jia Wang, AT&T Research