MICRO 2016

Final Submission Deadline
April 10, 2016

Submitted by Vijay Janapa Reddi

The 49th Annual IEEE/ACM International Symposium on
Microarchitecture (MICRO-49)

Taipei, Taiwan
October 15-19, 2016

Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society, TC-uARCH, and ACM SIGMICRO
Abstracts due : April 3rd, 2016
Papers due : April 10th, 2016
Rebuttal period : June 6th – June 10th, 2016
Notifications : June 25th, 2016
– Processor, memory, interconnect, and storage architectures
– Hardware, software, and hybrid techniques for improving system performance,
energy-efficiency, cost, complexity, predictability, quality of service,
reliability, security, scalability, programmer productivity, etc.
– Processor, memory, storage, interconnect designs
– Architectures for instruction-level, thread-level, and memory-level
parallelism: superscalar, VLIW, data-parallel, multithreaded, multicore,
manycore, etc.
– Compiler and microarchitectural techniques for parallelism (ILP, TLP, MLP)
– Low-power, high-performance, and cost/complexity-efficient architectures
– Architectures for emerging platforms, including smartphones, tablets,
cloud/datacenter, etc.
– Architectures and compilers for embedded processors, DSPs, GPUs, ASIPs
(network processors, multimedia, wireless, etc.)
– Advanced software/hardware speculation and prediction schemes
– Microarchitecture techniques to better support system software, programming
languages, programmability, and compilation
– Microarchitecture modeling and simulation methodology
– Insightful experimental and comparative evaluation and analysis of
existing microarchitectures, hardware/software mechanisms and workloads
General Co-Chairs
– Wei-Chung Hsu, Natl. Taiwan U.
– Chia-Lin Yang, Natl. Taiwan U.

Program Co-Chairs
– Mikko Lipasti, Univ. Wisconsin
– Hsien-Hsin Lee, TSMC

Tutorial and Workshops Chair
– David Brooks, Harvard

Local Arrangements
– Shiao-Li Charles Tsao, NCTU
– Pi-Cheng Hsiu, Academia Sinica

Publication Chair
– Bo-Cheng Charles Lai, NCTU

Publicity Co-Chairs
– Koji Inoue, Kyushu Univ.
– Vijay Janapa Reddi, UT Austin
– Albert Cohen, INRIA

Finance Co-Chairs
– Antonia Zhai, U. of Minnesota
– Yi-Jung Chen, NCNU

Web Chair
– Hung-Wei Tseng, UC San Diego

Submission Chair
– Chih-Chen Kao, Natl. Taiwan U.

Registration Chair
– Ren-Shuo Liu, NTHU

Industrial liaison
– Tien-Fu Chen, NCTU
– Mu-Tien Chang, Samsung USA
– Dongrui Fan, ICT

Travel Award Chair
– Carole-Jean Wu, ASU

Steering Committee
– Richard Belgard, Consultant, Chair
– David Albonesi,Cornell
– Tom Conte, Georgia Tech
– Kemal Ebcioglu, Global Supercomputing
– Matthew Farrens, UC Davis
– Scott Mahlke, Univ. of Michigan
– Bill Mangione-Smith, Consultant
– Onur Mutlu, CMU
– Yale Patt, UT Austin
– Milos Prvulovic, Georgia Tech