MULTIPROG 2013: Sixth Workshop on Programmability Issues for Heterogeneous Multicores

Final Submission Deadline
October 12, 2015

Submitted by Osman Unsal

Sixth Workshop on Programmability Issues for Heterogeneous Multicores

Held in conjunction with the 8th International Conference on High-Performance
and Embedded Architectures and Compilers (HiPEAC)
Berlin, Germany, January 21-23, 2013
Workshop website: http://multiprog.ac.upc.edu/

Goal of the Workshop
Computer manufacturers have already embarked on the multi-core roadmap,
promising to add more and more cores/hardware threads on a chip: many-cores are
on the horizon. This shift to an increasing number of cores and heterogeneous
architectures has placed new burdens on the programming community. Until now,
software has been developed with a single processor in mind and it needs to be
parallelized and optimized for accelerators such as GPUs to take advantage of
the new breed of multi-/many-core computers. As a result, progress in how to
easily harness the computing power of multi-core architectures is in
great demand.

The sixth edition of the MULTIPROG workshop aims to bring together, and cause
fruitful interaction between, researchers interested in programming models and
their implementation and in computer architecture, with special emphases on
heterogeneous architectures. A wide spectrum of issues are central themes for
this workshop such as what the future programming models should look like to
accelerate software productivity, how compilers, run-times and architectures
should support these new programming models, innovative algorithm and data
structure development, and heterogeneous embedded, accelerated systems.

MULTIPROG is intended for quick publication of early results, work-in-progress,
etc, and is not intended to prevent later publication of extended papers. We
will prioritize papers addressing cross-cutting issues and that provide thought-
provoking insights into the main themes. Informal proceedings with accepted
papers will be made available at the workshop.

One AMD Best Paper Award will be presented to the most outstanding paper
presented at MULTIPROG’13. The winner will receive a high-end ATi graphics
card sponsored by AMD.

Topics of interest
Papers are sought on topics including, but not limited to:
* Multi-core architectures
o Architectural support for compilers/programming models
o Processor (core) architecture and accelerators, in particular GPUs
o Memory system architecture
o Performance, power, temperature, and reliability issues
* Heterogeneous computing
o Algorithms and data structures for heterogeneous systems
o Applications for heterogeneous computing and real-time graphics
* Programming models for multi-core architectures
o Language extensions
o Run-time systems
o Compiler optimizations and techniques
o Tools for discovering and understanding parallelism
* Benchmarking of multi-/many-core architectures
o Tools for understanding performance and debugging
o Case studies and performance evaluation

Eduard Ayguade, UPC and Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Benedict R. Gaster, Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)
Lee Howes, Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)
Per Stenstrom, Chalmers University of Technology
Osman S. Unsal, BSC-Microsoft Research Centre

Important dates
Abstract Submission: October 8, 2012
Final Submission: October 15, 2012
Author Notification: December 3, 2012

Paper submission
Submitted papers should use the LNCS format and should be 12 pages maximum.

Manuscript preparation guidelines can be found at the LNCS web site.

Please check that (i) pages are numbered, and (ii) graphs etc. remain
legible when printed in black and white. Additional information about
paper submission is available through the workshop website.

Program committee
Manuel Chakravarty, U. of New South Wales, Australia
Mats Brorsson, KTH, Sweden
Bryan Catanzaro, NVIDIA, USA
Pascal Felber, U. of Neuchatel, Switzerland
Isaac Gelado, BSC, Spain
Roberto Giorgi, U. of Siena, Italy
Hakan Grahn, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
Tim Harris, Oracle, UK
Paul Kelly, Imperial College of London, UK
Mikel Lujan, U. of Manchester, UK
Tim Mattson, Intel Research, USA
Simon McIntosh-Smith, U. of Bristol, UK
Avi Mendelson, Microsoft, Israel
Dimitris Nikolopoulos, Queens U., UK
Andy Pimentel, U. of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Oscar Plata, U. of Malaga, Spain
Yanos Sazeides, U. of Cyprus, Cyprus
David Black-Schaffer, Uppsala U., Sweden
Nir Shavit, MIT, USA
John E. Stone, U. of Illinois, USA
Dongping Zhang, AMD, USA