SPAA 2016

Final Submission Deadline
February 5, 2016

28th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA 2016)
Asilomar State Beach, California, USA
July 11-13, 2016
Regular paper submission deadline: Feb 5, 11:59pm HAST
Brief announcements submission deadline: Feb 26, 11:59pm HAST
Rebuttal period: March 22-25
Notification: April 11
Submissions are sought in all areas of parallel algorithms and architectures,
broadly construed, including both theoretical and experimental perspectives.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
– Parallel and Distributed Algorithms
– Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
– Parallel Complexity Theory
– Scheduling in Parallel Systems
– Specification and Verification of Concurrent Systems
– Parallel and Distributed Architectures
– Multiprocessor and Multicore Architectures
– Transactional Memory Hardware and Software
– Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
– Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming
– Algorithms for GPUs and Other Alternative Parallel Architectures
– High-Performance Parallel Computing and Architectures
– Green & Power-Efficient Algorithms and Architectures
– Biological Distributed Algorithms
– Network Algorithms
– Algorithms for Routing and Information Dissemination
– Peer-to-Peer Systems
– Fault-tolerance and Reliability
– Security and Privacy in Distributed and Parallel Systems
– Parallel/Distributed Computational Learning
– Parallel/Distributed issues in Big Data
– Resource Management and Awareness

Regular papers:
Regular papers should report on original research, submitted exclusively to
this conference. Submissions may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced
double-column pages. (Papers will be judged based on their quality and not
their length—short papers are welcome.) The title page, bibliography and
designated figure pages (containing only figures) are not counted toward the
ten pages. (Illustrative figures are encouraged.) All necessary details to
substantiate the main claims of the paper should be included in a clearly
marked appendix. Regular papers will be allotted up to 10 pages in the
proceedings. Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award.

Brief announcements:
SPAA also solicits brief announcements that raise issues of interest to the
SPAA community. Brief announcements may not exceed two pages. Examples of good
brief announcements include: (i) papers previously published elsewhere of
interest to SPAA, (ii) work in progress, (iii) announcement of tools/libraries,
(iv) challenge problems posed to the community, (v) corrections to earlier
results. Brief announcements may also include smaller results of interest.

Authors may request that a regular paper be considered as a brief announcement.
As far as possible, the program committee will remain blind to this request
until status as a regular paper has been resolved. Such a request will not
affect the chances of the manuscript to be accepted as a regular paper.

Papers should be submitted in standard ACM format, i.e., 9-point font on 8.5×11
inch pages. For detailed submission instructions and formatting, please see
conference web site.

Program Chair:
Seth Gilbert (NUS)

General Chair:
Christian Scheideler (Univ. of Paderborn)

Local Arrangements:
Bradley Kuszmaul (MIT)

David Bunde (Knox College)

Publicity Chair:
Nodari Sitchinava (Univ. of Hawaii, Manoa)

Jeremy Fineman (Georgetown Univ.)

Program Committee:
Dan Alistarh (Microsoft Research)
Yossi Azar (Tel Aviv Univ.)
Michael Bender (Stony Brook Univ.)
Costas Busch (Louisiana State Univ.)
Yuval Emek (Technion)
Antonio Fernández Anta (IMDEA)
Jeremy Fineman (Georgetown Univ.)
Phil Gibbons (CMU)
Seth Gilbert (NUS)
Magnús M. Halldórsson (Reykjavík University)
Stephan Holzer (MIT)
Fabian Kuhn (Univ. of Freiburg)
Yossi Lev (Oracle)
Ishai Menache (Microsoft Research)
Ben Mosely (Wash. Univ. in St. Louis)
Calvin Newport (Georgetown Univ.)
Merav Parter (MIT)
Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv Univ.)
Seth Pettie (Univ. of Michigan)
Cynthia Phillips (Sandia Natl. Lab.)
Kirk Pruhs (Univ. of Pittsburgh)
Peter Robinson (Queen’s Univ. Belfast)
Thomas Sauerwald (Cambridge)
Stefan Schmid (Aalborg Univ.)
Michael Scott (Univ. of Rochester)
Julian Shun (UC Berkeley)
Aravind Srinivasan (Univ. of Maryland)
Maxwell Young (Mississippi State Univ.)