Call for Papers:


Abstract or Paper Registration Deadline
February 28, 2018
Final Submission Deadline
February 28, 2018

The 11th ACM International Systems and Storage Conference (SYSTOR)
Haifa, Israel
June 4-6, 2018

The ACM International Systems and Storage Conference (SYSTOR) is an excellent international forum for interaction across the systems research community. The program includes both innovative, peer-reviewed research papers in the broad area of systems and storage, as well as distinguished keynote lecturers, a poster session, and social events. ACM SYSTOR is designed to appeal to academic and industrial researchers and practitioners, welcoming both students and seasoned professionals.

SYSTOR has a broad scope, promoting experimental and practical computer systems research encompassing the following topics:

– Big data infrastructure
– Cloud, datacenter, and distributed systems
– Deployment, usage, and experience
– Embedded and real-time systems
– Fault tolerance, reliability, and availability
– File and storage systems
– Networked, mobile, wireless, peer-to-peer, and sensor systems
– Operating systems, computer architecture, and their interactions
– Performance evaluation and workload characterization
– Runtime systems and compiler/programming-language support
– Security, privacy, and trust
– System design or adaptation for emerging storage technologies
– Virtualization

SYSTOR welcomes academic and industrial papers in systems and storage, broadly construed. SYSTOR encourages submissions that describe results from experimental system prototypes, as well as experience papers describing practical deployments, and valuable lessons learned from them. We solicit paper submissions in five separate categories:

– Full Papers track – original research, at most 10 pages without the references
– Short Papers Track – original research, at most 5 pages without the references
– Highlight Papers Track – papers accepted at top-tier conferences
– Posters with Extended AbstractTrack – original work presented as poster accompanied by the extended abstract
– Informal Student Presentations – informal presentation of research findings, co-located with the poster session

Formatting and submission instructions:

Full and Short Papers Track
– Paper Submission: February 28, 2018
– Acceptance Notification: April 15, 2018
– Camera-ready: May 6, 2018

Highlight Papers Track:
– Extended Abstract Submission March 29, 2018
– Acceptance Notification April 24, 2018

Posters with Extended Abstract Track
– Poster & Abstract Submission March 29, 2018
– Acceptance Notification April 22, 2018
– Camera-ready May 6, 2018

Informal Student Poster Presentations Track:
– Poster Submission May 15, 2018
– Acceptance Notification May 22, 2018

SYSTOR 2018 will host distinguished keynote speakers, a poster session, and several social events at the conference. Our goal is to provide an excellent forum for interaction across the systems community: international, academic, and industrial, for both students and more established members.

General Chair:
– David Breitgand (IBM Research – Haifa, Israel)

Program Chairs:
– Gala Yadgar (Technion, Israel)
– Donald E. Porter (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)

Program Committee:
– Nadav Amit (VMware Research, USA)
– Antonio Barbalace (Huawei, Germany)
– Angelos Bilas (University of Crete, Grece)
– Renata Borovica-Gajic (University of Melbourne, Australia)
– Edward Bortnikov (Yahoo! Labs, Israel)
– Vijay Chidambaram (The University of Texas at Austin, USA)
– Toni Cortes (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya and Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain)
– Angela Demke Brown (University of Toronto, Canada)
– Fred Douglis ()
– Yoav Etsion (Technion, Israel)
– Boris Grot (University of Edinburgh, UK)
– Vishakha Gupta-Cledat (Intel Labs, USA)
– Danny Harnik (IBM Research – Haifa, Israel)
– Joo-Young Hwang (Samsung Electronics, Republic of Korea)
– Michael Kaminsky (Intel Labs, USA)
– Orran Krieger (Boston University, USA)
– Adam Morrison (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
– Sam H. Noh (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST), Republic of Korea)
– Amitabha Roy (Intel Labs, USA)
– Larry Rudolph (Two Sigma, USA)
– Margo Seltzer (Harvard University and Oracle, USA)
– Alexander Shraer (Apple, USA)
– Keith H. Smith (NetApp, USA)
– Vasily Tarasov (IBM Research – Almaden, USA)
– Chia-Che Tsai (University of California – Berkeley, USA)
– Xi Wang (University of Washington, USA)
– Pete Wyckoff (Nutanix, USA)
– Aviad Zuck (Technion, Israel)

Posters Chair:
– Michael Shapira (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (HUJI), Israel)

Publication Chair:
– Ittay Eyal (Technion, Israel)

Publicity Chair:
– Maayan Goldstein (Nokia, Bell Labs, Israel)

Local Arrangements Chair:
– Eti Jahr (IBM Research – Haifa, Israel)

Steering Committee Head:
– Dalit Naor (IBM Research – Haifa, Israel)

Steering Committee:
– Michael Factor (IBM Research – Haifa, Israel)
– Ethan Miller (University of California Santa Cruz, USA)
– Liuba Shrira (Brandeis University, USA)
– Dan Tsafrir (Technion, Israel)
– Erez Zadok (Stony Brook University, USA)