Call for Papers:

The 2nd Cache Replacement Championship

Final Submission Deadline
April 14, 2017

2nd Cache Replacement Championship (CRC-2)
co-located with ISCA
Toronto, Canada
June 25, 2017

Feb 6: Competition simulator (framework) released on the website
April 14: Submissions due (300 word abstract, prefetching module, 4 page write-up)
April 28: Author notification

The goal for this competition is to compare different cache replacement algorithms for a last level cache in a common framework. Replacement algorithms will be evaluated for both private and shared last level caches with and without a data cache prefetcher. The algorithms must be implemented within a fixed storage budget as specified in the competition rules. Submissions will be evaluated based on their performance using the framework provided by the organizing committee.

Submissions will be evaluated for the following four configurations:
1. Single core with 2 MB LLC w/o a prefetcher.
2. Single core with 2 MB LLC w/ prefetcher.
3. A 4-core configuration with 8 MB of shared LLC w/o prefetcher.
4. A 4-core configuration with 8 MB of shared LLC w/ prefetcher.

The champion (best geomean speedup versus baseline across all traces and configurations) will receive a trophy commemorating his/her triumph. In addition to the top performance champion, the program committee will select the best technical paper from all submissions, which does not necessarily have to be that of the champion.

Sign up for the mailing list by sending an empty email to:

We will announce the availability of the competition framework on the mailing list and the website.

All source code, write-ups and performance results will be made publicly available through the CRC website.

PC Chair:
Paul V. Gratz, Texas A&M University

Organizing Committee Chair:
Jinchun Kim, Texas A&M University

Organizing Committee:
Alaa R. Alameldeen, Intel
Aamer Jaleel, NVIDIA
Seth Pugsley, Intel
Chris Wilkerson, Intel

Program Committee:
Mike Ferdman, Stony Brook University
Daniel Jimenez, Texas A&M University
Moinuddin Qureshi, Georgia Tech University
Eric Rotenburg, North Carolina State University
Carole-Jean Wu, Arizona State University
Akanksha Jain, University of Texas at Austin

Submission Chair:
Gino Chacon, Texas A&M University