Call for Papers:

Workshop on Architectures for Intelligent Machines

Final Submission Deadline
July 17, 2017

First Workshop on Architectures for Intelligent Machines (AIM)
in conjunction with PACT 2017
Portland, USA
September 10, 2017

Submission deadline: July 17, 2017
Notification, August, 4, 2017
Camera-Ready: August 11, 2017

The First Workshop on Architectures for Intelligent Machine aims to bring computer architecture, compiler, AI and machine learning/deep learning researchers as well as domain experts together, to produce research that target the confluence of these disciplines. This workshop targets the domain of parallel architectures and compilers for AI and machine learning and deep learning while focusing on key software, system and accelerator innovations. It will be a venue for discussion and brainstorming on topics related to these areas.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
– Novel CPU, GPU, FPGA and ASIC architectures for AI
– Compiler design for Artificial Intelligence and data science
– Evolution of demands of ML frameworks and workloads
– Low precision and/or Mixed precision arithmetic
– Memory and storage technologies for AI: 3DXpoint, HBM, Stacked DRAM, NVRAM etc.
– Neural network instructions and special purpose units
– AI Workload design and development for accelerators
– Methods for Hardware / Software Co-design with Intelligent machines
– End to end flow system optimizations

All manuscripts will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Submissions should be a complete manuscript (not to exceed 6 pages of single spaced text in the ACM format, including figures and tables). Submissions should be in the PDF format. Templates for paper preparation can be found at

Workshop Co-Chairs:
Dr. Meenakshi Arunachalam, Principal Engineer, Intel
Dr. Mahmut Kandemir, Professor, Penn State University, USA

Program Committee:
Mohammad Arjomand, Georgia Tech, USA
Meenakshi Arunachalam, Intel, USA
Nachiappan Chidambaram N., Apple Inc., USA
Myoungsoo Jung, Yonsei University, Korea
Mahmut Taylan Kandemir, Penn State, USA
Rahul Khanna, Intel, USA
Hassnaa Moustafa, Intel, USA
Ozcan Ozturk, Bilkent University, Turkey
Gabriel Rodriguez, Universidade da Coruna, Spain
Vikram Saletore, Intel, USA

Web/Publicity Chair:
Jagadish Kotra, Penn State University, USA

Submissions Chair:
Xulong Tang, Penn State University, USA