Call for Papers:

Workshop on Computer Architecture Education

Abstract or Paper Registration Deadline
May 22, 2023
Final Submission Deadline
June 9, 2023

Workshop on Computer Architecture Education
Associated with the 50th International Symposium on Computer Architecture
a constituent conference of the Federated Computing Research Conference
Orlando, FL
June 17-21, 2023

WCAE provides a forum for educators in computer architecture to discuss and share their experiences and teaching philosophy. Past WCAEs have been held in conjunction with HPCA, ISCA, and Micro. Over 230 papers on computer architecture education have been presented at the workshop since its inception in 1995. Participants will come away from the workshop with new ideas on delivering courses in computer architecture. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following.

Topics of interest

Approaches to introductory courses
Advanced courses
Online resources
Resources for “flipped” classes
Materials for active learning
Lecture vs. hybrid vs. flipped classes
Lab support for distance education
Textbook development
Critical evaluation of textbook approaches
Metrics for evaluating learning gains

Tools and techniques for autograding non-programming assignments
Integration of research into teaching
Industrial support for teaching

Resources & techniques for teaching …
GPU architecture & programming
quantum architecture & programming
multicore/many-core issues
comp. arch. concepts with FPGAs
architectural & software issues specific to embedded systems
Hardware tools
Simulators and other software tools
Visualization aids
Encouraging undergraduate research
Encouraging students to pursue a Ph.D.
Broadening participation in computer architecture

Early-decision submission date: May 1, 2023
Regular submission due date: May 22, 2023

Ed Gehringer, North Carolina State University

Program Committee
João M. P. Cardoso, University of Porto
Jim Conrad, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Henry Duwe, Iowa State University
Xinfei Guo, University of Virginia
Sarah Harris, University of Nevada-Las Vegas
Byunghyun Jang, University of Mississippi
Dave Kaeli, Northeastern University
Zachary Kurmas, Grand Valley State University
Yale Patt, University of Texas
Cristina Silvano, Politecnico di Milano

The workshop web site is