Call for Participation:

WACCPD 2019: Sixth Workshop on Accelerator Programming using Directives

Sixth Workshop on Accelerator Programming using Directives (WACCPD 2019)
(in conjunction with SC19)
November 18, 2019 –

Call for Participation

The ever-increasing heterogeneity in supercomputing applications has given rise to complex compute node architectures offering multiple, heterogeneous levels of massive parallelism. Exploiting the maximum available parallelism out of such systems necessitates sophisticated programming approaches that can provide scalable as well as portable solutions without compromising on performance. Software abstraction-based programming models, such as OpenMP and OpenACC, have been raising the abstraction of code to reduce the burden on the programmer while improving productivity.

Recent architectural trends indicate a heavy reliance of future exascale machines on accelerators for performance. Toward this end, the workshop will highlight the improvements over state-of-art through the accepted papers and prompt discussion through keynotes and panel. The workshop aims to showcase all aspects of heterogeneous systems discussing innovative high-level language features, lessons learned while using directives to migrate scientific legacy code to parallel processors, compilation and runtime scheduling techniques among others.

We cordially invite you to attend and look forward to seeing you there!

Location: Room 702, Colorado Convention Center, Denver, CO
Time: 9:00 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.


09:00-09:10     Opening Remarks –  Sandra Wienke & Sridutt Bhalachandra

09:10-10:00     Keynote: Nicholas James Wright (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA) –  Perlmutter –  A 2020 Pre-Exascale GPU-accelerated System for NERSC: Architecture and Application Performance Optimization

10:00-10:30     WACCPD Morning Break

Topic: Porting Scientific Applications to Heterogeneous Architectures Using Directives

10:30-11:00     Takuma Yamaguchi (University of Tokyo, Japan) – GPU Implementation of a Sophisticated Implicit Low-Order Finite Element Solver with FP21-32-64 Computation Using OpenACC

11:00-11:30     Noriyuki Kushida (Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization) – Acceleration in Acoustic Wave Propagation Modelling using OpenACC/OpenMP and its hybrid for the Global Monitoring System

11:30-12:00     Zhengji Zhao (NERSC, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA) – Accelerating the Performance of Modal Aerosol Module of E3SM Using OpenACC

12:00-12:30     Fazlay Rabbi (Michigan State University, USA) – Evaluation of Directive-based GPU Programming Models on a Block Eigensolver with Consideration of Large Sparse Matrices

12:30-14:00     WACCPD Lunch Break

14:00-14:30     Invited Talk: Robert Henschel (Indiana University, USA) – The SPEC ACCEL Benchmark Results and Lessons Learned

Topic: Directive-Based Programming for Math Libraries

14:30-15:00     JaeHyuk Kwack (Argonne National Laboratory, USA) – Performance of the RI-MP2 Fortran Kernel of GAMESS on GPUs via Directive-Based Offloading with Math Libraries

15:00-15:30     WACCPD Afternoon Break

Topic: Performance Portability for Heterogeneous Architectures

15:30-16:00     Yuuichi Asahi (National Institute for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology, Japan) – Performance portable implementation of a kinetic plasma simulation mini-app

16:00-16:30     Damodar Sahasrabudhe (University of Utah, USA) – A Portable SIMD Primitive using Kokkos for Heterogeneous Architectures

16:30-16:35     WACCPD Best Paper Award

16:35-17:25     Panel: Fernanda Foertter (NVIDIA, USA) – Convergence, Divergence, or New Approaches? The Future of Software-Based Abstractions for Heterogeneous Supercomputing
Panelists: Jeff R. Hammond, Jack Deslippe, Christian Robert Trott, Michael Wolfe, Johannes Doerfert

17:25-17:30     WACCPD Closing Remarks

Further information can be found on the WACCPD web page:

Sandra Wienke (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) and Sridutt
Bhalachandra (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA), WACCPD
Program Chairs

Steering Committee
* Barbara Chapman (Stony Brook, USA)
* Duncan Poole (OpenACC, USA)
* Jeffrey Vetter (ORNL, USA)
* Kuan-Ching Li (Providence University, Taiwan)
* Oscar Hernandez (ORNL, USA)

Publicity Chair: Neelima Bayyapu (NMAM Institute of Technology,
Karnataka, India)
Web Chair: Shu-Mei Tseng (University of California, Irvine, USA)