Congratulating ISCA 2023 awards recipients

SIGARCH and TCCA would like to congratulate the recipients of the awards and honors announced at the ISCA 2023 awards banquet.

ACM/IEEE CS Eckert Mauchly Award
Kunle Olukotun, Stanford University
“For contributions and leadership in the development of parallel systems, especially multicore and multithreaded processors”

ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award
Abhishek Bhattacharjee, Yale University
“For contributions to memory address translation used in widely available commercial microprocessors and operating systems”

ACM SIGARCH Alan D. Berenbaum Distinguished Service Award
David Wood, University of Wisconsin
“For his exemplary stewardship of the SIGARCH-SIGHPC transition and his decades of leadership in the SIGARCH and broader computer architecture community”

ISCA Influential Paper Award
“3D-Stacked Memory Architectures for Multi-core Processors”
by Gabriel Loh
35th International Symposium on Computer Architecture, 2008

ISCA Best Paper Award
”Contiguitas: The Pursuit of Physical Memory Contiguity in Datacenters”
by Kaiyang Zhao, Kaiwen Xue, Ziqi Wang, Dan Schatzberg, Leon Yang, Antonis Manousis, Johannes Weiner, Rik van Riel, Bikash Sharma, Chunqiang Tang, Dimitrios Skarlatos

”SCALO: An Accelerator-Rich Distributed System for Scalable Brain-Computer Interfacing”
by Karthik Sriram, Raghavendra Pradyumna Pothukuchi, Michał Gerasimiuk, Muhammed Ugur, Oliver Ye, Rajit Manohar, Anurag Khandelwal, Abhishek Bhattacharjee

ISCA Artifact Award
”RowPress: Amplifying Read-Disturbance in Modern DRAM Chips”
by Haocong Luo, Ataberk Olgun, Giray Yaglikci, Yahya Can Tuğrul, Steve Rhyner, Meryem Banu Cavlak, Joël Lindegger, Mohammad Sadrosadati, Onur Mutlu

RoSÉ: A Hardware-Software Co-Simulation Infrastructure Enabling Pre-Silicon Full-Stack Robotics SoC Evaluation
Dima Nikiforov, Shengjun Kris Dong, Chengyi Lux Zhang, Seah Kim, Borivoje Nikolić, Yakun Sophia Shao

SIGARCH/TCCA Outstanding Dissertation Award
Georgios Tzimpragos, UCSB, for “Computing with Temporal Operators.”
Citation: ”For cross-layer computer architecture and compilation techniques that facilitate practical quantum hardware and software, bridging the resource gap between quantum applications and hardware.”

Honorable Mentions:

Vidushi Dadu, UCLA, for “Generalizing Programmable Accelerators for Irregularity.”
Citation: “For broadening the scope of programmable accelerators by systematizing forms of irregularity across domains and exposing specialization primitives within unified task-dataflow execution models.“

Udit Gupta, Harvard, for “Enabling High Performance, Efficient, and Sustainable Deep Learning Systems at Scale.”
Citation: “For contributions to hardware/software design of neural recommendation systems, recognition of the sustainability impact of large-scale AI, and development of embodied carbon models.“

Gururaj Saileshwar, Georgia Tech, for “Architecting Secure Processor Caches.”
Citation: “For developing principled state-of-the art cache attacks and defenses by exploiting architectural insights.“

ACM Fellows:
• Luis H. Ceze: “For contributions to developing new architectures and programming systems for emerging applications and computing technologies”
• Timothy Sherwood: “For contributions to computer system security and performance analysis”
• Moin Qureshi: “For contributions to memory hierarchy design”

IEEE Fellows
• Fred Chong: “For contributions to the field of quantum computer architecture, compilation, and optimization”
• Moin Qureshi: “For contributions to scalable memory systems”
• Rajit Manohar: ”For contributions to the design and implementation of asynchronous circuits and systems”